“Dancing with God”

Standard

Cup of JoyFor about eighteen years now, I’ve had this chronic pain.  It first started in my joints and knees. As a teenager, I found myself up in the middle of the night trying to stretch, bend, and take medication to ease the discomfort.  As I’ve gotten older, the pain has changed positions.  Now in my early thirties it rests in my back.  Many would not know the pain I feel daily as I smile, as I teach, as I converse with those who cross my path.  Last night was one of those nights were this discomfort robbed me of rest and time with my family.  The last few years it has crippled me to the point of having to get my husband to help me up the stairs, having to take breaks when writing on the white board for school, or things as simple as holding a pan while cooking dinner.

Doctors have tested me and over the eighteen years, no one has been able to give me an answer!  Despite it all, I have not lost hope. I have not lost faith.  I keep my eyes on what is not seen.

Just this morning, while riding to work and watching the sunrise.  I saw someone dancing with me. I wasn’t able to see His face; but His presence was captivating!  More than that, Holy Spirit spoke and said, “Dance with me.”  As He led me from one beat to the next, the pain begin to fade.  I forgot to be in control of the wheel and continue to my destination. In fact, I wasn’t driving anymore, but I was caught up in the dance with my God.  When He moved, I would move.  When He stopped, I would stop.  When He turned around, I would turn around.  Was this the answer to so many years of pain?  Was the diagnoses simply not dancing with God?

Sometimes in this life we have such physical and emotional pain for so long,  that we don’t know how life feels without it. We can’t comprehend letting go and letting God lead the way.

I believe this morning, God was simply saying, ” I am the answer. Trust me! Just dance with me!”

Jeremiah 29:11

New Living Translation (NLT)

11 For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.

 

Counting it All Joy,

Rev. Lucas

 

One thought on ““Dancing with God”

Leave a Reply

