“Joyful Fridays” ~My Brake Light is On~ Pass on a cup of JOY!

Standard

This morning as I got closer to the school, I noticed one of my students walking.  I was several miles from the school, so the first thought was, is she going to school or skipping?So, I found the nearest parking lot, honked my horn, and signaled for her to come over so that I could get clarity of the situation. I asked her where she was headed and if she needed a ride.  Her eyes lit up and immediately my stomach dropped.  This young lady was walking to school.  She had rose up early this morning, before 5 a.m., to catch the bus from Oak Cliff to Lewisville.  Once she got to Lewisville, she began taking her normal walking route from the bus station to the school grounds.  Rain, sleet, or snow this was her early morning ritual. Immediately, I told her how much I admired her determination, her perseverance, and her dedication to obtain what God intended for her to have.   I was indeed sorry for being ungrateful. I confessed to her, I walk out the doors of my beautiful home, into a garage with two running cars, start my car and complain that it’s a 2005 with the brake and engine light glaring at me as I drive to school.  She laughed and said, “Mrs. Lucas in this life you have to do what you have to do.”  I agreed with her and realized that I must embrace the shining brake and engine light in the dash of my car.   From this day forward when they pop up and say good morning, I’ll be reminded it’s time to break.  Break free from complaining,  break free from being ungrateful, and break free from the my own personal bubble. My engine light will be a reminder to turn on my own engine and run with the full power God intended for me to run on.

The Joy is: Hebrews 13:5   Keep your lives free from the love of money and be content with what you have, because God has said,“Never will I leave you;  never will I forsake you.”